Focus models Ford Focus News

Focus NewsFocus ReviewsFocus Photo GalleryFocus History
Want to buy the car?
Contact Us:
 Home » Ford Focus News » Robertson Scores Wire-To-Wire USAC Ford Focus Midgets Win At ...

Robertson Scores Wire-To-Wire USAC Ford Focus Midgets Win At ...

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- Indianapolis, Indiana driver James Robertson posted a flag-to-flag run from the pole to win the 30 lap USAC Ford Focus Midget feature at Hawkeye Downs Speedway on Friday night. Robertson kept his car stuck to the bottom of the track and was never seriously challenged enroute to the checkered flag.

Defending series champion Tate Martz of Rushville, IN finished in second while Robby Ray of Davenport, IA finished third.

The series returns to Cedar Rapids on August 4th.

The wins are starting to pile up for some Hawkeye Downs drivers. Four of the six regular divisions signed in to do battle Friday night with Performance Concepts Late Models, Miller Time Modifieds, Budweiser Sportsmen, and Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks all in action.

Kyle Hinrichs of Swisher visited Coca-Cola Victory lane for the second straight week as he won the 30-lap feature for that division. Hinrichs emerged as the leader on laps 12 after he and drivers Brad Osborn and Scott Wennermark battled three-wide in turn three.

With one lap to go, Osborn had mounted a serious challenge for the lead just as the race was red-flagged for Curt Van Der Wal, who crashed very hard in turn three, seriously damaging his car. Van Der Wal was not injured.

Hinrichs prevailed on the restart with Osborn finishing second and Wennermark third.

In other Papa Johns Cup/ I-Wireless Championship action, Ross Zumbach made a high-side pass of Mel Schappert on Lap 10 to win his second straight 25-lap Budweiser Sportsmen feature. Zumbach started fifth and held off a furious charge from Dave McCalla at the stripe. Zumbachs’ margin of victory was only 51 one-hundreths of a second according to the Hawkeye Downs Electronic Trasponder Timing and Scoring system. Rookie driver Joey King of Silvis, IL finished a strong third.

Defending Miller Time Modified champion Tim Plummer scored his second win of the season but it didn’t come easy as his run to the checkers was repeatedly interrupted by the caution flag. After leading much of the race, Craig Bender posted his highest finish since moving to the Modified Division, crossing the Coors light Finish Line in second. Arlo Becker finished in third.

One division of the Full Throttle Energy Drink Starts of Tomorrow was also in action. The Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks battled for 15 laps on the quarter-mile with Rodney Grother edging Tim Dains for the win. Grother started in ninth with Dains alongside in tenth.

Most of the divisions have next week off as the Hawkeye Downs Fair takes center stage. There is no Friday racing on June 9, but the Hobby Stocks and Hornets will be in action on Wednesday, June 7 as part of “Motor Madnessâ€. Also on the card are Monster Trucks, School Buses and Mini-van racing.

Regular Friday night racing resumes on June 16.

1. James Robertson, Indianapolis, IN; 2. Tate Martz, Rushville, IN; 3. Robbie Ray, Davenport, IA; 4. Casey Riggs, Shelbyville, IN; 5. Mario Clouser, Auburn, IL; 6. Lynsey Tilton, El Cajon, CA; 7. Tyler Irwin, Polson, IN; 8. Chett Gehrke, Broken Arrow, OK; 9. Ricky Ehrgott, Florida; 10. Luke Daugherty, Findlay, OH; 11. Nick Hansen, Niles, MI; 12. Nick Daugherty, Findlay, OH


Fast Qualifier- 18.684 Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (30 laps)

1. Kyle Hinrichs, Swisher, IA; 2. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 3. Scott Wennermark, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Chris Sevey, Waterloo, IA; 5. Jeff King, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Curt Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa, IA; 7. Craig Roberts, Des Moines, IA


HEAT 1- 1. Jim hanson, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Scott Grady, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Chad Willett, Alburnett, IA; 4. Scott Strauss, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Aric Becker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Cory Houdek, Marion, IA; 7. Arlo Becker, Norway, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Shawn Stinger, Palo, IA; 3. Rodney Rocarek, Mount Vernon, IA; 4. Tim Plummer, Norway, IA; 5. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Darrell Long, Cedar Rapids, IA

FEATURE (25 laps)

1. Plummer; 2. Bender; 3. Arlo Becker; 4. Rocarek; 5. Stinger; 6. Hanson; 7. Grady; 8. Willet; 9. Aric Becker; 10. Strauss; 11. Long; 12. Houdek; 13. McGrath


HEAT 1- 1.Mel Schappert, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Andy Duggan, Marion, IA; 4. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Mark Hauderm Dubuque, IA; 6. Brian Franks, Central City, IA

HEAT 2- 1. Ross Zumbach, Racine, MN; 2. Kevin Lee, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Martin Ballard, Marengo, IA; 4. Joey King, Silvis, IL; 5. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids, IA; 6. Ben Glascock, Indianola, IA

FEATURE ( 25 laps)

1. Zumbach; 2. McCalla; 3. King; 4. Schappert; 5. Ballard; 6. Lee; 7. Franks; 8. Hauder; 9. Parker; 10. Glascock; 11. Duggan; 12. Ahrendsen


HEAT 1- Rodney Grother, Cedar Rapids, IA; 2. Deb Mefford, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Gary Pfantz, State Center, IA; 4. Perry Thomsen, Cedar Rapids, IA; 5. Joe Sprague, Independence, IA; 6. Chad Vozenilek, Cedar Rapids, IA; 7. Barb davis, Cedar Rapids, IA

HEAT 2- Duayne Herb, Marion, IA; 2. Ron Fare, Cedar Rapids, IA; 3. Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids, IA; 4. Tim Dains, Marion, IA; 5. Dennis Klinsky, Ely, IA; 6. Terry Schaffar, State Center, IA; 7. Matt Lacoursiere, IA

FEATURE (15 laps)

1. Grother; 2. Dains; 3. Herb; 4. Pfantz; 5. Fare; 6. Shaffar; 7. Floyd; 8. Klinsky; 9. Sprague; 10. Thomsen; 11. Lacoursiere; 12. Davis; 13. Mefford; DNS- Vozenilek

Robertson Scores Wire-To-Wire USAC Ford Focus Midgets Win At ...
New and Used Cars For Sale
Want to buy the car? Contact Us: